Councillor and MP contacts

Thanks for your help and support so far.

With Bullington Cross now at appeal we need you more than ever to make a noise and get your voices heard.

Writing to your Local Politician is one of the best ways you can do that and with a little help from us, it won’t take more than a few minutes.

Below you will find everything you need to write a persuasive letter that won’t be ignored.

Thank you again for your support. Together we can make Hampshire greener!

Suggested text

…but feel free to write your own words adding your own personal comments and feelings about the wind farm and the benefits it will bring to the local community

Dear

Re: Bullington Cross Wind Farm  Planning Application 13/00753/FULLN / 13/00046/FUL / 13/00800/FUL. Appeal Reference: APP/C1760/W/14/3001604

I have already shown my support for the wind farm at Bullington Cross via the planning consultation process. I’m concerned that the clear majority of the public is not being listened to.

This majority understands the clear and urgent need for renewable energy. Building wind farms in the South of England is vital for the long term resilience of the area. Not only does Hampshire currently rely heavily on the import of energy, mostly from the burning of fossil fuels (which is the major cause of climate change), but also the money spent on this energy leaves the county.

The Government’s own climate change targets can only be met if everyone plays his/her part.  We all have a duty to play our part and the building of Bullington Cross Wind Farm will not only show our  support for combating climate change but will also help us to generate more income for the local area, via rates, jobs and community ownership.

Wind farms are clean, modern, efficient and quiet.  A very few people will say they are ugly but banning things because they are ugly is a dangerous road to take. The look of something should not outweigh its clear economic and environmental benefits. The real damage to our landscape will be done by climate change not by a few wind farms.

Over 2,700 local people have contacted the planning officers to show their support for community ownership of Bullington Cross wind farm.  Community ownership is important.  It means the benefits of the farm are shared with us, the local community.

Recent Government statistics (source DECC) show that 70 % of the UK public support wind farms. I am one of those  70 %. It is important to me that local elected representatives and decision makers listen to this overwhelming majority.

Can you assure me that you, as my local representative, will ensure that my views are known and acted upon.

I look forward to your reply.

Yours sincerely..

Wind Farms – A dozen good reasons

1. 70% of the UK population support wind farms.

2. 2,750 local people have written to Basingstoke, Winchester and Andover councils asking for community ownership of the Bullington Cross wind farm.

3. The benefits of wind farms far outweigh any costs. They reduce carbon emissions, do not produce pollution,  produce cheap renewable energy, generate local jobs, increase council revenues, and reduce our reliance on expensive dirty imported fossil fuels. 

4. Wind farms generated enough electricity to power 5 million homes last year.

6. Wind farms are just as efficient as nuclear, gas, and coal fired power plants.

5. By the end of 2013 17% of UK electricity came from renewable resources.

6. Wind farms have a smaller impact on our landscape than coal, oil, gas or nuclear power plants.

7. We have to get our electricity from somewhere it makes sense that we make some of it ourselves.

8. Hampshire spends £4 billion a year on fossil fuels to generate energy.  This is a drain on our local economy.  We can make energy renewably ourselves and save money. 

9. Community ownership means the benefits and profits from the wind farm accrue to local people ie US.

10. A co-operative (Hampshire Renewable Energy Co-op) has been formed to buy a community stake in the wind farm.

11. The biggest danger facing our countryside is climate change.

12. A NO to wind farms = A YES for climate change.

MP contacts

Winchester: Mr Steve Brine MP
steve.brine.mp@parliament.uk

North West Hampshire: Mr Kit Malthouse MP

kit.malthouse.mp@parliament.uk

Basingstoke: Mrs Hon Maria Miller MP
maria.miller.mp@parliament.uk

Councillor Contacts

Winchester City Council

Ward Title First Name Last Name Party Email
Whiteley Cllr Vivian Achwal Liberal Democrat vachwal@winchester.gov.uk
St John and All Saints Cllr Janet Berry Labour jberry@winchester.gov.uk
St Barnabas Cllr Eileen Berry Conservative eberry@winchester.gov.uk
Upper Meon Valley Ward Cllr Norma Bodtger Conservative nbodtger@winchester.gov.uk
St Bartholomew Cllr Rosemary Burns Conservative
Littleton and Harestock Cllr James Byrnes Conservative jbyrnes@winchester.gov.uk
Wickham Cllr Angela Clear Liberal Democrat aclear@winchester.gov.uk
The Alresfords Cllr Simon Cook Liberal Democrat scook@winchester.gov.uk
Colden Common and Twyford Cllr Susan Cook Conservative
Boarhunt and Southwick Ward Cllr Neil Cutler Liberal Democrat ncutler@winchester.gov.uk
Droxford Soberton and Hambledon Ward Cllr Caroline Dibden Conservative cdibden@winchester.gov.uk
Oliver’s Battery and Badger Farm Cllr Patrick Fancett Liberal Democrat pfancett@winchester.gov.uk
Shedfield Cllr Linda Gemmell Conservative lgemmell@winchester.gov.uk
Wonston and Micheldever Ward Cllr Stephen Godfrey Conservative sgodfrey@winchester.gov.uk
St Luke Cllr Derek Green Liberal Democrat dgreen@winchester.gov.uk
St Bartholomew Cllr Dominic Hiscock Liberal Democrat dhiscock@winchester.gov.uk
Sparsholt Cllr Caroline Horrill Conservative chorril@winchester.gov.uk
Owslebury and Curdridge Ward Cllr Robert Humby Conservative rhumby@winchester.gov.uk
St Paul Cllr Liz Hutchison Liberal Democrat lhutchison@winchester.gov.uk
Shedfield Cllr Roger Huxstep Conservative rhuxstep@winchester.gov.uk
Colden Common and Twyford Cllr Richard Izard Liberal Democrat rizard@winchester.gov.uk
The Arlesfords Cllr Ernest Jeffs Conservative ejeffs@winchester.gov.uk
Kings Worthy Cllr Robert Johnston Liberal Democrat rjohnston@winchester.gov.uk
Oliver’s Battery and Badger Farm Cllr Brian Laming Liberal Democrat blaming@winchester.gov.uk
Wonston and Micheldever Ward Cllr Barry Lipscomb Conservative blipscomb@winchester.gov.uk
Colden Common and Twyford Cllr Peter Kent Mason Liberal Democrat pmason@winchester.gov.uk
St Michael Cllr Fiona Mather Conservative fmather@winchester.gov.uk
St Bartholomew Cllr James Maynard Liberal Democrat jmaynard@winchester.gov.uk
Wickham Cllr Therese Evans Liberal Democrat tevans@winchester.gov.uk
Bishops Waltham Cllr David McLean Conservative dmclean@winchester.gov.uk
Bishops Waltham Cllr Steve Miller Conservative smiller@winchester.gov.uk
Whiteley Cllr Sam Newman-McKie Liberal Democrat snewmanmckie@winchester.gov.uk
St Barnabas Cllr Helen Osborne Conservative hosborne@winchester.gov.uk
Swandmore and Newtown Ward Cllr Frank Pearson Conservative fpearson@winchester.gov.uk
Denmead Cllr Kirk Phillips Conservative kphillips@winchester.gov.uk
The Arlesfords Cllr Margot Power Liberal Democrat mpower@winchester.gov.uk
St Luke Cllr Rosemary Prowse Liberal Democrat rprowse@winchester.gov.uk
Denmead Cllr Michael Read Conservative mread@winchester.gov.uk
Owslebury and Curdridge Ward Cllr Laurence Ruffel Conservative lruffel@winchester.gov.uk
Bishops Waltham Cllr Tom Ruffel Conservative truffel@winchester.gov.uk
Kings Worthy Cllr Jane Rutter Liberal Democrat jrutter@winchester.gov.uk
St Michael Cllr Robert Sanders Conservative rsanders@winchester.gov.uk
St Luke Cllr Jamie Scott Liberal Democrat jscott@winchester.gov.uk
St John and All Saints Cllr Jonathan Scowen Conservative jscowen@winchester.gov.uk
Compton and Otterbourne Cllr Mike Southgate Conservative msouthgate@winchester.gov.uk
Denmead Cllr Particia Stallard Conservative pstallard@winchester.gov.uk
St Michael Cllr Ian Tait Conservative itait@winchester.gov.uk
Cheriton and Bishops Sutton Ward Cllr Amber Thacker COnservative athacker@winchester.gov.uk
St Paul Cllr Lucille Thompson Liberal Democrat lthompson@winchester.gov.uk
St Paul Cllr Martin Tod Liberal Democrat mtod@winchester.gov.uk
Littleton and Harestock Cllr Paul Twelftree Conservative ptwelftree@winchester.gov.uk
Compton and Otterbourne Cllr Jan Warwick Conservative jwarwick@winchester.gov.uk
St Barnabas Cllr Anne Weir Liberal Democrat aweir@winchester.gov.uk
Swanmore and Newtown Ward Cllr Victoria Weston Conservative vweston@winchester.gov.uk
Wonston and Micheldever Ward Cllr Malcom Wright Independent mwright@winchester.gov.uk

Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council

Ward Title First Name Last Name Party Email
Hatch Warren and Beggardwood Cllr Rebecca Bean Conservative Cllr.Rebecca.Bean@basingstoke.gov.uk
Baughurst and Tadley North Cllr Micheal Bound Liberal Democrat cllr.michael.bound@basingstoke.gov.uk
Rooksdown Cllr Simon Bond Conservative cllr.simon.bond@basingstoke.gov.uk
Chineham Cllr Joyce Bowyer Conservative cllr.joyce.bowyer@basingstoke.gov.uk
Kempshott Cllr Rita Burgess Conservative cllr.rita.burgess@basingstoke.gov.uk
Kempshott Cllr Anne Court Conservative cllr.anne.court@basingstoke.gov.uk
Brookvale & Kings Furlong Cllr Jack Cousens Labour Cllr.Jack.Cousens@basingstoke.gov.uk
Basing Cllr Onnalee Cubitt Independent cllr.onnalee.cubitt@basingstoke.gov.uk
Grove Cllr Stephen Day Liberal Democrat Cllr.Stephen.Day@basingstoke.gov.uk
Whitchurch Cllr Eric Dunlop Liberal Democrat cllr.eric.dunlop@basingstoke.gov.uk
Kempshott Cllr Hayley Eachus Conservative cllr.hayley.eachus@basingstoke.gov.uk
Winklebury Cllr Laura Edwards Conservative Cllr.Laura.Edwards@basingstoke.gov.uk
Brighton Hill South Cllr Matt Ellery Independent Cllr.Matthew.Ellery@basingstoke.gov.uk
Burghclere, Highclere & St Marybourne Cllr Graham Falconer Conservative Cllr.Graham.Falconer@basingstoke.gov.uk
Popley West Cllr Jane Frankum Labour cllr.jane.frankum@basingstoke.gov.uk
Popley West Cllr Paul Frankum Labour cllr.paul.frankum@basingstoke.gov.uk
Oakley & North Waltham Cllr Stuart Frost Conservative Cllr.Stuart.Frost@basingstoke.gov.uk
Pamber & Silchester Cllr Roger Gardiner Conservative Cllr.Roger.Gardiner@basingstoke.gov.uk
Basing Cllr Sven Godesen Conservative cllr.sven.godesen@basingstoke.gov.uk
Oakley & North Waltham Cllr Rob Golding Conservative cllr.rob.golding@basingstoke.gov.uk
Brighton Hill North Cllr Hannah Golding Conservative cllr.hannah.golding@basingstoke.gov.uk
Norden Cllr Paul Harvey Labour cllr.paul.harvey@basingstoke.gov.uk
Norden Cllr George Hood Labour cllr.george.hood@basingstoke.gov.uk
Grove Cllr Ronald Hussey Lib Dem cllr.ron.hussey@basingstoke.gov.uk
Burghclere, Highclere & St Marybourne Cllr John Izett Conservative Cllr.John.Izett@basingstoke.gov.uk
Norden Cllr Lauren James Labour cllr.laura.james@basingstoke.gov.uk
Eastrop Cllr Gavin James Liberal Democrat cllr.gavin.james@basingstoke.gov.uk
Buckskin Cllr Tony Jones Labour Cllr.Tony.Jones@basingstoke.gov.uk
South Ham Cllr Sean Keating Labour cllr.sean.keating@basingstoke.gov.uk
Sherbourne St John Cllr John Leek Conservative cllr.john.leek@basingstoke.gov.uk
Tadley South Cllr David Leeks Conservative cllr.david.leeks@basingstoke.gov.uk
Brighton Hill South Cllr Pamela Lonie Labour Cllr.Pamela.Lonie@basingstoke.gov.uk
Chineham Cllr Paul Miller Conservative cllr.paul.miller@basingstoke.gov.uk
Tadley South Cllr Rob Musson Conservative cllr.robert.musson@basingstoke.gov.uk
Kingsclere Cllr Cathy Osselton Conservative cllr.cathy.osselton@basingstoke.gov.uk
Eastrop Cllr Stuart Parker Liberal Democrat cllr.stuart.parker@basingstoke.gov.uk
Overton, Laverstoke and Steventon Cllr Colin Phillimore Labour cllr.colin.phillimore@basingstoke.gov.uk
Buckskin Cllr Nigel Price Labour Cllr.Nigel.Pierce@basingstoke.gov.uk
Basing Cllr Clive Pinder Conservative cllr.clive.pinder@basingstoke.gov.uk
Popley East Cllr David Potter Labour Cllr.David.Potter@basingstoke.gov.uk
Hatch Warren and Beggardwood Cllr Dan Putty Conservative cllr.dan.putty@basingstoke.gov.uk
South Ham Cllr Colin Regan Labour Cllr.Colin.Regan@basingstoke.gov.uk
Hatch Warren and Beggardwood Cllr Terri Reid Conservative cllr.terri.reid@basingstoke.gov.uk
Tadley Central Cllr Jonathan Richards Conservative cllr.jonathan.richards@basingstoke.gov.uk
Bramley and Sherfield Cllr Nicholas Robinson Conservative cllr.nicholas.robinson@bsingstoke.gov.uk
Upton Grey and The Candovers Cllr Mark Ruffell Conservative cllr.mark.ruffell@basingstoke.gov.uk
East Woodhay Cllr Clive Sanders Conservative cllr.clive.sanders@basingstoke.gov.uk
Kingsclere Cllr Donald Sherlock Conservative Cllr.Donald.Sherlock@basingstoke.gov.uk
Winklebury Cllr Joseph Smith Conservative cllr.joseph.smith@basingstoke.gov.uk
Chineham Cllr Elaine Still Conservative cllr.elaine.still@basingstoke.gov.uk
Baughurst and Tadley North Cllr Robert Tate Conservative Cllr.Robert.Tate@basingstoke.gov.uk
Brighton Hill North Cllr Mark Taylor Labour Cllr.Mark.Taylor@basingstoke.gov.uk
Oakley & North Waltham Cllr Diane Taylor Conservative cllr.diane.taylor@basingstoke.gov.uk
Overton, Laverstoke and Steventon Cllr Ian Tilbury Independent cllr.ian.tilbury@basingstoke.gov.uk
Bramley and Sherfield Cllr Chris Tomblin Independent Cllr.Chris.Tomblin@basingstoke.gov.uk
Pamber & Silchester Cllr Marilyn Tucker Conservative cllr.marilyn.tucker@basingstoke.gov.uk
Popley East Cllr Vivien Washbourne Labour Cllr.Vivien.Washbourne@basingstoke.gov.uk
Labour Cllr Gary Watts Labour Cllr.Gary.Watts@basingstoke.gov.uk
Whitchurch Cllr keith Watts Liberal Democrat cllr.keith.watts@basingstoke.gov.uk
Brookvale & Kings Furlong Cllr Michael Westbrook Labour Cllr.Michael.Westbrook@basingstoke.gov.uk

Test Valley Borough Council

Ward Title First Name Last Name Party Email
Blackwater Cllr Nick Adams-King Conservatives Cllrnadams-king@testvalley.gov.uk
Chilworth, Nursling and Rownhams Cllr Nigel Anderdon Conservatives cllrnanderdon@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (St Mary’s) Cllr Iris Andersen Conservatives cllriandersen@testvalley.gov.uk
Blackwater Cllr Gordon Bailey MBE Conservatives cllrgbailey@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey (Cupernham) Cllr Dorothy Baverstock Liberal Democrats cllrdbaverstock@testvalley.gov.uk
Valley Park Cllr Andrew Beesley Liberal Democrats cllrabeesley@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Harroway) Cllr Carl Borg-Neal Conservatives cllrcborg-neal@testvalley.gov.uk
Stockbridge Cllr Peter Boulton Conservatives cllrpboulton@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Alamein) Cllr Alexander Brook Conservatives cllrabrook@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Millway) Cllr Zillah Brooks Conservatives cllrzbrooks@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Winton) Cllr Jan Budzynski Conservatives cllrjbudzynski@testvalley.gov.uk
Chilworth, Nursling and Rownhams Cllr Phil Bundy Conservatives cllrpbundy@testvalley.gov.uk
Broughton and Stockbridge Cllr Daniel Busk Conservatives Cllrdbusk@testvalley.gov.uk
Charlton Cllr Ian Carr Conservatives cllricarr@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (St Mary’s) Cllr John Cockaday Conservatives Cllrjcockaday@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey (Abbey) Cllr Clive Collier Conservatives cllrccollier@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey (Tadburn) Cllr Mark Cooper Liberal Democrats cllrmcooper@testvalley.gov.uk
North Baddesley Cllr Stephen Cosier Liberal Democrats Cllrscosier@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (St Mary’s) Cllr David Denny Conservatives Cllrddenny@testvalley.gov.uk
Valley Park Cllr Alan Dowden Liberal Democrats cllradowden@testvalley.gov.uk
North Baddesley Cllr Celia Dowden Liberal Democrats cllradowden@testvalley.gov.uk
Harewood Cllr David Drew Conservatives Cllrddrew@testvalley.gov.uk
Amport Cllr Benjam Brown Independent cllrbfewbrown@testvalley.gov.uk
Chilworth, Nursling and Rownhams Cllr Alison Finlay Conservatives cllrafinlay@testvalley.gov.uk
Anna Cllr Maureen Flood Conservatives cllrmflood@testvalley.gov.uk
Bourne Valley Cllr Peter Giddings Conservatives cllrpgiddings@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Harroway) Cllr Karen Hamilton Conservatives cllrkhamilton@testvalley.gov.uk
Amfield and Braishfield Cllr Martin Hatley Conservatives cllrmhatley@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Millway) Cllr Sandra Hawke Conservatives cllrshawke@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey Extra Cllr Ian Hibberd Conservatives cllrihibberd@testvalley.gov.uk
Over Wallop Cllr Anthony Hope Conservatives cllrahope@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey (Tadburn) Cllr Peter Hurst Liberal Democrats cllrphurst@testvalley.gov.uk
Dun Valley Cllr Ian Jeffrey Conservatives CllrIjeffrey@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey Extra Cllr Alison Johnston Conservatives cllrajohnston@testvalley.gov.uk
Penton Bellinger Cllr Phillip Lashbrook Conservatives cllrplashbrook@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Winton) Cllr Jan Lovell Conservatives cllrjlovell@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Winton) Cllr Christopher Lynn Conservatives cllrclynn@testvalley.gov.uk
Penton Bellinger Cllr Pam Mutton Conservatives cllrpmutton@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Millway) Cllr James Neal Conservatives cllrjneal@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Alamein) Cllr Phillip North Conservatives cllrpnorth@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Harroway) Cllr Brian Page MBE Conservatives cllrbpage@testvalley.gov.uk
Andover (Alamein) Cllr Tracey Preston Conservatives cllrtpreston@testvalley.gov.uk
Romsey Cllr Ian Richards Conservatives cllririchards@testvalley.gov.uk
Anna Cllr Graham Stallard Conservatives cllrgstallard@testvalley.gov.uk
Valley Park Cllr Margaret Tilling Liberal Democrats cllrmtilling@testvalley.gov.uk
North Baddesley Cllr Ann Tupper Liberal Democrats cllratupper@testvalley.gov.uk
King Somborne and Michelmersh Cllr Tony Wards Conservatives cllrtwards@testvalley.gov.uk